Asia Cup 2022: New Venue, Format, Scheduling and History

After a long wait and delay of two years, Asia Cup is finally starting on August 27, 2022. The Final will be played on 11 Sep 2022. Asia Cup 2022 has shifted from Sri Lanka to the UAE as per the latest reports. The decision came out, owing to the bad fuel conditions, food shortage, economic conditions and instability in Sri Lanka. ACC has finalized the decision of shifting it to a new venue.

ACC, being the governing body of the tournament has announced the starting and ending dates but other details are yet to be finalized. Previously all the arrangements were done in Sri Lanka and the schedule was issued but it will be rescheduled now.

Teams: Asia Cup 2022

Six teams are participating in the tournament. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, India, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have already qualified. One of the new teams (Hong Kong/ Kuwait/ Singapore) will be the sixth one.

  1. Pakistan
  2. India
  3. Afghanistan
  4. Sri Lanka
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Qualifier (Hong Kong/ Kuwait/ Singapore)

Grouping: Asia Cup 2022

The teams are divided into two groups. Each group has three teams. The group distribution has been finalized as:

Group A Group B
Sri Lanka Pakistan
Afghanistan India
Bangladesh Qualifier


Format: Asia Cup 2022

Unlike recently, it will be played in T20 format rather than a 50 overs match. 4 teams will come up from the two groups. Two teams with top points on the table will play a final to fight for the Asia Cup 2022 trophy.

Venues: Asia Cup 2022

As the tournament has shifted from Sri Lanka to UAE, ACC has yet to issue the exact details of venue and scheduling but the probable venues of Asia Cup 2022 could be three stadiums.

  1. Dubai International Stadium
  2. Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium
  3. Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium

Asia Cup Team Rankings

The rankings of Asia Cup teams are issued by Asian Cricket Council. The ranking along with points is as:

Team Name Rank Points
India 1 264
Pakistan 2 261
Sri Lanka 3 231
Bangladesh 4 230
Afghanistan 5 228

Asia Cup Winners

As per records, the BETJEE has compiled the winners of the Asia Cup year per year. The winner and the runner-up have shown in the details.

Years Winner Runner-up
2018 India Bangladesh
2016 India Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh
2010 India Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka India
2004 Sri Lanka India
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka
1997 Sri Lanka India
1995 India Sri Lanka
1991 India Sri Lanka
1988 India Sri Lanka
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan
1984 India Sri Lanka


Asia Cup 2022 Group Stage Schedule

The dates and matches have been scheduled but the stadiums are yet to be decided. We will let our followers know as soon as these will be announced.

Date Group A Group B
27 -8- 2022 Sri Lanka Bangladesh
28 -8- 2022 India Pakistan
29 -8- 2022 Bangladesh Afghanistan
30 -8- 2022 Pakistan Qualifier Team
1 -9- 2022 Sri Lanka Afghanistan
2 -9- 2022 India Qualifier Team
4 -9- 2022 Winner A Runner-up B
5 -9- 2022 Winner B Runner-up A
6 -9- 2022 Winner A Runner-up A
7 -9- 2022 Winner B Runner-up B
8 -9- 2022 Group A Winner Group B Winner
9 -9- 2022 Runner-up A Runner-up B
11 -9- 2022 Final TBD TBD