PCB Junior League Discontinues as New Chairman Takes Charge

PCB Junior League Discontinues as New Chairman Takes Charge

PCB Management Committee is being led by Najam Sethi now as Ramiz Raja has stepped down. Along with the major structural change in domestic cricket, he has also made the decision to start the Pakistan Women’s League. Not only this, he has announced to end of the Pakistan Junior League as well.

The decisions were taken in the 2nd meeting of the PCB Management Committee which was held on 7 Jan 2022 at the National High Performance Centre. The Pakistan Women’s League has been renamed “The Women’s League.” It has been launched by the PCB as part of its strategy to continue investing in women’s cricket and to excel in it.

The former Chairman of PCB had taken the initiative of the Women’s League. When he was in charge of the PCB, it was decided that the women’s league would be played alongside the Pakistan Super League 8th edition in March 2023.

In the press release of October last year, it was stated that four city-based teams will compete for the biggest prize in Pakistan’s women’s domestic calendar. It will be a double-league format and comprising 12 local and 6 foreign players. After 12 matches, the top two teams will compete in the final. It will be played a day before the PSL 8 final.

Now the suspension of the Pakistan Junior League’s suspension has been approved by the new PCB Management Committee. However, it was agreed to revive in the country and foreign series to ensure that the country continues to produce talented cricketers. It will be beneficial for all ages and with this, the talented lot has access to a pathway of the main Pakistan National team.

To strengthen this emerging talent support concept, it was also agreed to include a player under the age of 19 in their Emerging Categories. For this, they will talk to the franchises of the HBL Pakistan Super League about this and make a way out.

In addition to this, the Management Committee held a healthy discussion regarding restructuring domestic cricket. Regarding the re-establishment of the Departmental, Regional and District Cricket Associations, they might be revived as per the PCB Constitution 2014.

A plan will now be prepared to officially include Regional and District Cricket Associations and Departments in the domestic cricket structure. It will include participation in the PCB Board of Governors.

The Committee confirmed that all contracts of players, which are in effect until August 2023, will be honored and fulfilled. Additionally, it agreed that the compositions of the twelve Committees and will be announced soon.

The twelve committees include the Domestic Restructuring Committee, Domestic Restoration Committee, Department Cricket Restoration Committee, NHPC Remodeling Committee, Restructuring of Women’s Cricket Committee, Cricket Infrastructure Committee, Audit Committee, Finance and Commercial Affairs Committee, Human Resource Committee, Legal Affairs Committee, National Selection Committees and Benevolent Fund Committee.


For more updates and info stay connected to betjee-pro.com or visit our website https://betjee-pro.com/

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.